Breed of the Week: Orpington

Lovingly called Orps.

I have to confess something. I’ve resisted getting this breed for years and now I don’t know why. I have 4 hens and I adore them.

Orps are an English heavy breed. Giant and fluffy! They have pearl legs and a single comb.

I think the most common (popular) color is buff, which is a pretty golden color. They come in many other colors like black, blue, splash, and an awesome color called jubilee.

I’ve read that this breed is a great layer and fantastic mothers. This is a very docile breed and make good pets for kids.

image
Two of my golden girls.
Leave a Reply

