Book Review: Apocalyptic Witchcraft by Peter Grey

I haven’t posted a review in a while, so here you go. A scathing review.

First of all, I am so glad I borrowed this and didn’t try to buy it. Even the damn paperback is over priced. Don’t think you’re going to get a cheap used copy off Amazon. That’s not happening!

Personally, I wouldn’t have paid 99ยข for this crap.

I looked at the reviews first. That’s a given. I always do that. I don’t want to pay for crap because it isn’t often I can afford to buy books, even in digital format. I should have known something was wrong when the ‘glowing’ reviews made me yawn.

There are probably many, many people that will think this book is outstanding. The writing is superb, that’s not even remotely the problem. I have no problems with philosophy either.

The problem is that this book is so profoundly boring it can put you to sleep in seconds. Peter Grey takes himself too seriously. It fells like I’m being lectured.

It’s not that I’m not capable of deep thought. I just don’t want to read someone else’s. I can’t tell if I should be deeply offended, bored out of my mind, or in awe of his writing. He says he ‘avoids archaic words’ and that it takes ‘skillful fingers and quick wit’. In other words he didn’t want anyone to understand what the hell he’s talking about.

In all honesty, I think I just feel disgust. Some of the crap he says is so far out there it’s certifiable.

Someone else might like it, but I sure as hell don’t. This book is going back to its owner. I’m done trying to understand the author’s thought process and how much he seems to hate being straight forward in his writing.

Leave a Reply

