Breed Profile of the Week: Ameraucana

If you follow my blog even in passing you can tell I have a lot of love for chickens.
They’re considered gateway livestock and are usually followed by peafowl, waterfowl, and other poultry.

I’ve decided to start doing breed profiles to introduce people to different breeds of chickens. I want to start with three that are confused with each other. The Ameraucana, Araucana, and Easter Egger.

This weeks breed is the Ameraucana.

image
Photo by Joshua Trujillo. Copied from feathersite.com

Warning!!! Don’t be fooled by misspellings like Americauna and Americana. Those are spellings commonly used by scammers selling mixed breed stock. Never buy from someone that claims their stock lays any color aside from blue!

Ameraucanas are an American heavy breed. Not to be confused with dual purpose breeds. They lay blue eggs.

Ameraucanas were developed in the 1970s from the Araucana in an effort to have a blue laying breed. Minus the Araucana’s fatal genes.

The Livestock Conservancy doesn’t have the breed listed, but it’s still a rare breed. Pure stock isn’t cheap.

I don’t have a lot of experience with this breed. I may have a hatchery quality hen, but I won’t know until she gets a little older. Ameraucanas should have both cheek fluff (muffs) and neck fluff (beard).

image
Before the move to the big pen.

Most consider them to friendly birds. I tend to agree.

One thought on “Breed Profile of the Week: Ameraucana

Leave a comment